Funding Breakthrough Research to Support the Discovery of Promising New Treatments for TNBC Patients

The Triple Negative Breast Cancer Foundation’s mission emphasizes research. One of our greatest contributions is to convene meetings of researchers, where the very best minds in science can compare results and connect findings.
Our sixth Triple Negative Breast Cancer Symposium was held on December 7, 2015 in San Antonio, TX.

We also make grants to scientists to pursue promising avenues to result in a targeted therapy. You can find more information on our work with major research institutions by clicking on the links below.

AACR-Triple Negative Breast Cancer Foundation-Carol’s Crusade for a Cure Foundation Career Development Award in Metastatic Triple Negative Breast Cancer Research (3 year grant, awarded to Christina Curtis, PhD, assistant professor at Stanford University, 2016)

  • Using an unprecedented triple negative breast cancer (TNBC) tissue cohort composed of primary TNBCs and their paired metastases, her unique project seeks to identify the earliest drivers of metastasis. Cleverly coined the “Big Bang model”, Curtis is focused on uncovering the key indicators that define whether a tumor will become metastatic. She will take a novel approach to this problem, combining genomics and systems biology, to understand the evolution of TNBC from primary to metastatic tumor. Results from this study have the exciting potential to advance diagnosis and treatment of metastatic TNBC.

The Triple Negative Breast Cancer Foundation offers financial support to outstanding young investigators presenting meritorious proffered papers at the American Association for Cancer Research Annual Meeting.

AACR-Triple Negative Breast Cancer Foundation Career Development Award (3 year grant, awarded to Eddy S. Yang, MD, PhD, The University of Alabama at Birmingham – Read About Dr. Yang’s Research)

Young Investigator Award (1 year grant awarded to Dr. Karen Cadoo, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center)

Triple Negative Breast Cancer Foundation/Samuel Waxman Cancer Research Foundation Joint Research Grant (3 year grant, awarded to researchers working collaboratively at Mount Sinai Medical Center, the Sylvester Comprehensive Cancer Center at the University of Miami, and The Institute of Cancer Research, London)

The Leslie Simon Breast Cancer Breakthrough Research Grant (1 year grant, awarded to Dr. Mark Pegram, Stanford University)

2014 Triple Negative Breast Cancer Foundation Research Grant (1 year grant, awarded to Drs. J. Chuck Harrell and Charles Perou, Lineberger Cancer Center of the University of North Carolina)

2011 Triple Negative Breast Cancer Foundation Research Grant (1 year grant, awarded to Dr. Shridar Ganesan, Rutgers University)

2010 TNBC Foundation Research Grants (1 year grant, awarded to Dr. James Ford, Stanford University, and Dr. Shridar Ganesan, New Jersey College of Medicine and Dentistry/Robert Wood Johnson Medical Center)

2010 Susan G. Komen Promise Grant, Co-funded by the Triple Negative Breast Cancer Foundation (5 year grant, awarded to Drs. Andres Forero and Tong Zhou, University of Alabama)